Cyclist and Karate Athlete Crowned 2021/2022 Terengganu Sportsman and Sportswoman

Source: Bernama

Cyclist and Karate Athlete Crowned 2021/2022 Terengganu Sportsman and Sportswoman

By: Michelle Liew

Terengganu Polygon Cycling Team (TSG) cyclist Muhamad Nur Aiman Mohd Zariff and karate athlete Siti Nur Azwani Nor Azli were announced as the 2021/2022 Terengganu Sportsman and Sportswoman last night.

Muhammad Nur Aiman won the award after beating four other candidates including national archery athlete, Khairul Anuar Mohamad, while Siti Nur Azwani made her own history when she inherited the title from former national wrestler, Siti Rahmah Mohamed.

The victory allowed the two to go home with a cash prize of RM7,000, an accompanying trophy, a certificate of honour and a pair of blazers in the Terengganu State Sports Awards (AST) ceremony at Wisma Darul Iman, here.

Muhamad Nur Aiman said the award he received for the first time will be used as a motivation trigger to continue achieving more success for the team, state and country in the future.

He who is undergoing a training camp in Spain was represented by his mother to receive the award.

Siti Nur Azwani, who is studying in her second year in the field of Communication at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), said she did not expect to be selected to receive the award, given that each of the shortlisted candidates had great profiles and achievements in their sports careers, including at the Olympic level.

"Even though I feel like I can't believe it, Alhamdulillah, fortune is on my side. Thank you to my parents, coaches and friends who gave me a lot of encouragement and enthusiasm," she said. Siti Nur Azwani is currently undergoing preparatory training for selection to the Cambodia SEA Games 2023 this May.

Meanwhile, the AST 2021/2022 Harapan Sportsman and Sportswoman award (Olahragawan dan Olahragawati Harapan AST 2021/2022) was won by Muay Thai athlete, Nor Iman Aliff Rakib and canoeist, Syahida Asyiqin Rusli.

Renowned Olympian Datuk Azizulhasni Awang also received recognition for the Special Award category for his achievement in representing the state and the country.