Agong Awards 293 Medals to Military Personnel to Honour Their Services

Source: Berita Harian

Agong Awards 293 Medals to Military Personnel to Honour Their Services

BY: Michelle Liew  

Brave soldiers put up a strong defence for the country, which in turn makes the citizens feel much safer. 

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has conferred the title of Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces (PGAT) to the Commander-in-Chief of the Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) Gen Tan Sri Mohammad Ab Rahman just yesterday. 

At the 2023 Malaysian Armed Forces Heroic Award Ceremony (DKAT) the first session that took place at the Royal Palace, Mohammad, as an honorary recipient, topped the list of 293 medal recipients including six foreign military officers. 

His Majesty was also pleased to award the PGAT degree to the Commander of the Army Gen Datuk Muhammad Hafizuddeain Jantan and the Commander of the Navy Admiral Tan Sri Abdul Rahman Ayob. 

Her Majesty the Queen Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah also left to accompany Her Majesty who is also the Supreme Ruler of ATM to the awarding ceremony. 

At the ceremony, His Majesty conferred honorary degrees consisting of the rank of Loyal Commander of the Armed Forces (PSAT) to 13 recipients, Pahlawan Angkatan Tentera (PAT) to 43 recipients, Knight of the Armed Forces (KAT) to 112 recipients and Herald of the Armed Forces (BAT) involving 116 recipients. 

His Majesty was pleased to award Honorary PGAT degrees to six recipients from foreign countries, namely Commander of the Indonesian National Army (TNI) Admiral Yudo Margono, Commander of the Singapore Armed Forces Vice Admiral Aaron Beng and Chief of Staff of the TNI Army General Dudung Abdurachman. 

The awarding of the DKAT Medal is given to officers and members of other ranks who are qualified for their services and sacrifices in the ATM service. 

Also present at the ceremony were Minister of Defense Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan, Secretary General of the Ministry of Defense Datuk Seri Isham Ishak and Deputy Commander of the Air Force Lt Gen Datuk Seri Muhamad Norazlan Aris. 

The second session of the ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Istana Negara, this Thursday.